Where does “Gangsta Love” come from???

Snoop Dogg’s new video “Gangsta Luv” f. The Dream is a funny ass video, and watching it has sent me on a mission: where does Gangsta love come from?

I mean, LL Cool J was “hard”, until he showed his vulnerability,  let his guard down, and dropped the classic single, “I Need Love“. But then again, LL wasn’t exactly “gangsta”…I needed to do more research…

Clip from Snoop Dogg's "Gangsta Luv" video...where does gangsta love come from?

Uncle Snoopy: where does gangsta love come from???

So I started with

Snoop- Dizzle, since he inspired this train of thought…I thought he might

have a track for this train to run on. The classic Snoop Dogg Love video in my eyes is “Losin Control”, I heard this in 7th grade, and to this day its

applicable.

But being from Northern California, there is a quintessential gangsta love song that says it all,   Mac Mall’s “Wide Open”

And then Master P. had his run, so I had to see what Percy Miller could bring in to the table in reference to gangsta love…

Master P F. Mia X

“thinkin about you”

And of course, when we speak of gangsta love, we have to talk about the tragic side…here are a couple of songs that have the tragedy of a Shakespearean sonnet…and the reality of John Singleton movie.

The Losty Boyz: Renee…. If you don’t know about this, then sit back and soak

game.

B.I.G’s “me and my bitch”. This song is classic, not only because Christopher Wallace paints the tragedy blatantly, but this song is sampled by a song that pops up later in this list..which means without this song, another song would not have existed.

this is a write in because: 1. its an R&b SONG (KINDA) and 2. now that I watch the video…its kinda corny… TQ’s “bye bye baby”

Eve’s “Love is Blind”…this is “gangsta love”…not only love between man and woman, but the gangsta things a woman would do fer her friend. I respect it.

And while on the topic of Eve, although she did drop a song titled “Gangster Love” f. Alicia Keys,  I don’t believe there was a more “gangsta love song” from her than her classic track “gotta man”…with that said, I gotta let it rock:

while we are on the topic of Ruff Ryder’s influence on “gangsta Love”…I wouldn’t dare pass up DMX’s “How its goin down”

50 Cent’s 21 questions has its place in the world of gangsta love… And

although his gangsta is questioned in real life, the way 50 used the music industry was definitely gangsta.

While we are on the topic of questioning people’s real life gangsta… Lil Wayne’s

“Youngin Blues”, the cold part is, one day, this will be  “ole folks music” for late 80’s babies…

Alright- enough with the tragedy- enough with the fake gangstas…lets keep it real. When we talk about love, we have to talk about the things you will do for

love- Bobby Caldwell’s “Do For Love” is perfect compliment to Tupac’s eloquent lyrical expression of defining this phenomenon of “gangsta love”of which I choose to speak.

I FOUD IT! the definition of gangsta love… a sample of Notrius B.I.G’s lyrics

“we ride together, cry together, I swear to God: I hope we fuckin die together” plus the soul sound of  Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terell “You’re all I need to get by“…all refurbished into a form that went directly to the heart of mid-90’s Hip-Hop heads:  Method Man and Mary J. Blidge,”All I need (to get by)”.

This shit is gangsta.

Gangsta love is fighting for love with the same passion that you would fight someone from the opposing turf, click, set, or in the broad sense- the other  side. Makes sense to me: you fight for love- cause the opposing side is hate- what gangsta doesnt fight against hate?

2 thoughts on “Where does “Gangsta Love” come from???

  1. As much as I can understand right now, I think you’re right!

  2. quite love these it serves ma interest in the gangster kinda of living.

Leave a Reply

