Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive In SF.

MLK Dr. in SF.

MLK Dr. in SF.

“…He called me and said: I’m lost & I’m on MLK… I said: run!”- Unknown comedian.

MLK Ave. / Boulevard/ Street / Drive / Way … always seems to be in the hood. Always.

Last year I walked down Oakland’s MLK Way through a foggy North Oakland to the pier in Oakland’s Jack London Square, just outside of West Oakland. The year prior I walked through South East Washington DC by the Big Chair and Frederick Douglass’ house in order to capture the sights of MLK Ave. in the Nation’s Capitol.

Martin Luther King Jr. Day 2012, I found myself in one of the Nation’s most scenic cities: sunny San Francisco, Ca. Instead of walking this time- I decided to ride my bike… I should have known something would be different from that decision alone…

Freedom ride: free BART ride on MLK Day in the Bay.

Freedom ride: free BART ride on MLK Day in the Bay.

A biker on MLK Dr. in SF.

A biker on MLK Dr. in SF.

MLK Drive in a nice neighborhood.

MLK Drive in a nice neighborhood.

I didn’t spot any RIP murals, graffiti, lower income housing, or any Black people. At all.

San Francisco’s MLK Drive has to be the most scenic street dedicated to the deceased Civil Rights leader in the States… Here is a sneak peak:

I saw a lot of joggers how some ever…

Jogger on MLK Dr.

Jogger on MLK Dr.

An ole school ride and a jogger.

An ole school ride and a jogger.

A jogger and a beach at the end of San Francisco's MLK drive.

A jogger and a beach at the end of San Francisco's MLK drive.

As I came out of San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park, I ended up at the beach, Ocean Beach… At 12 Noon… I was listening to BIG’s instrumental for “Juicy”. I hopped off my bike and stepped onto the sand that lead to the Pacific Ocean.

On the beach for MLK Day... let freedom ring.

On the beach for MLK Day... let freedom ring.

 

“It was all a dream.”- Christopher Wallace.

 

Peace.

Leave a Reply

