6 East Coast Rap Songs 4 the Hard Times

 

East Coast Rap

East Coast rap is the most graphic musical example of “the struggle” of Black America since the invention of the Blues. period.

Here is a short list of some of the songs I let rock during the hard times…

Ghostface Killah’s “All That I got is You”

classic line:  “check it: 15 of us in a 3 bedroom apartment/ roaches everywhere/ cousins and aunts was there/ 2 at the foot, 2 at the head/I didn’t like to sleep with Jon-Jon/ he peed in bed.”

KRS-1’s “Love’s Gonna get’cha”

classic line: “I got 3 pairs of pants, and with brother I share/ so there in school- Im made a fool: with 1 1/2 pairs of pants you ain’t cool!”

Jay-Z’s “Anything”

Classic Line: “from the stoop, to the big dudes stopping us from playing hoops/ and us getting mad, throwing rocks off the roof”

Freeway’s  “what we do”

classic line: “if my heat stop working/ then my heat start working/…IMMA ROB ME A PERSON!”

Notorius B.I.G.’s “Everyday Struggle”

classic line: “I know how it feels to wake up fucked up/ Pockets broke as hell, another rock to sell/ People look at you like you’re the user /Selling drugs to all the losers mad Buddha abuser.”

DMX’s “Slippin”

Classic line(S): *This is one of my top 5 favorite songs of all time, therefore its hard for me to choose just a couple of lyrics- this whole song is exemplifies inner city juvenile struggle to a tee…but if there are any lines that stand out, these two would be them:

“I’m ready for the world or at least I thought I was/ Baggin’ niggas when I caught a buzz/ For thinking about how short I was”

” Sayin’ to myself that could’ve been yo ass on the TV/ Believe me it could be done something’s got to give/ It’s got to change cause I’ve got a son/ I’ve got to do the right thing for shorty/ And that means no more getting high drinking forties”

One thought on “6 East Coast Rap Songs 4 the Hard Times

Leave a Reply

