“One Good Thing About Music, When it Hits You Feel No Pain”- Bob Marley/ not Drake…Never Drake

Fuck Drake… yeah I said it, catchy bastard…and Fuck Lady Gaga while your at it…Damn pop music has been polluting my mind too long!!! I’ve got to get to the bottom of this…

I hopped off my six hour cross-country flight, and sat at the baggage claim terminal with the patience of a wile fisherman. I was fishing for my bags. But my angelic poise and focus was disturbed by a manic voice in my head. It was the voice of Drake …and all it was saying: “one good thing about music/ when it hits you feel no pain”,  a line from the song “Over”.

I had to get away from my mind’s lyrical repetition. I grabbed my headphones. Activated the pandora application on my blackberry. and let the Bob Marley station take me away from the world of Drake-dom.

…”One good thing about music, when it hits you feel no pain” sung the Trenchtown legend named Robert Marley.

The first song that pandora played was Bob Marley’s “Hit Me With Music

My jaw dropped. retrieving my bags wasn’t nearly the object of my mission anymore. It was deeper than some luggage. This was about “one good thing about music”…or rather, the “one bad thing about music…when it hits- it gets stuck in yo brain!”, and I was tired of it.

I eventually made it home. I kissed my mom for Mother’s Day. I punched my nephew for his Birthday. And I even saw this pretty young lady from Berkeley smile- that made my day. But I wasn’t content. not nearly. I popped up in the middle of the night and began an internet inquiry in effort to get to the root of this issue.

this should be considered business malpractice.

When you start digging up dirt, you will find worms. In this case, I found “earworms”. An article on Howstuffworks.com informed me that,  “(earworms) are parasitic in the sense that they get lodged in your head and cause a sort of “cognitive itch” or “brain itch” — a need for the brain to fill in the gaps in a song’s rhythm”. The site continued to say that, it is a function of your auditory cortex to naturally want to fill in the gaps missing in auditory patterns. The auditory cortex does the repetitions in effort to complete the pattern that was once heard.

The cycles of catchy tunes serves as the perfect pattern to spark the auditory cortex; all that’s saying is: “listening to music will casue music to get stuck in your head”…uhhhh….duuuh! The question is, once a song is stuck in your head, how do you get that DJ to stop the record?

The article suggests listening to another song, or listening to the same song again (to complete the pattern), or even go as far as imaging the “earworm” as a real thing- and then picture it crawling out of your head. (and these are paid scientists???)

I can remember being young, sitting at a bus stop, and a passing car’s soundtrack would be blasting down the street; as the car passed, my mind would be indoctrinated. I noticed this pattern at a young age, I’ve always had a thing for noticing patterns. So when the article on earworms suggested that music being stuck in your head is nothing more than your brain trying to form a pattern, I can believe it. I like patterns. I excelled in elementary school! And I look good in plaid, at least the girl from Berkeley with the pretty smile thinks so.

In the end: the pattern of getting music stuck in my head must go! Before the summer “pop hit” comes out, I need to find a way to rid myself of this patttern!

But until I do… I’ll sit here, in a state of misery, with Lady Gaga’s  quote “my phone vibrrrrating”, from the song “Telephone” playing over and over and over in my head.

I’m not a big Drake fan, and not nearly a member of the Lady Gaga fan club; but I figure the only thing worse than you getting a song stuck in your head- is when someone else causes it to happen… So I decided to share that song with yall…songs cool, but the video is epic!

28 thoughts on ““One Good Thing About Music, When it Hits You Feel No Pain”- Bob Marley/ not Drake…Never Drake

  1. Drake put ”One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.”
    in his song because he was inspired by Bob Marley! Duh! -Meredith, Drake Fan.

  2. Never Say Fuck Drake!!!!

  3. The name of the Marley song is not Hit Me With Music, but “Trenchtown Rock” rather. Definitely locate a live version of the song. I don’t have a problem with Drake or Ga, but fuck Ke$ha…i’m just sayin’

  4. I love this! – I’m only 19 but I am a HUGE into music, when I heard this in Drake’s video I was instantly disappointed. I was listening to the radio a week or two ago and Justin Beiber announced he was this generations Kurt Cobain, I have never been SO disgusted. I can honestly say if I ever meet this Beiber kid I will give him a swift kick in the ass! Kurt Cobain is a legend, and anyone in this generation who tries to compete with past generations music legends will fail terribly.

    • First off, Megan, that’s their fucking job, to compete with legends. And, no, they won’t fail terribly. As you can see Beiber (even though I, too, hate the little prick) is already not failing, and actually completely contrary to your point, is succeeding massively. But that is their job to try and one up the past. I’m sick of people acting like these past musician are untouchable. Put Cobain out today, no matter how good he is, he doesn’t hit big. It’s all timing.

      Two, Drake actually didn’t get inspired by Marley at all and actually took Dead Prez’s version (inspire by Marley). You can see since the word good is nowhere in the Drake line (“One thing ’bout music…”). And because the next three lines are modeled after the Prez version.

      • the more you know, eh? Dead Prez? Who dat?

      • You are right Matt, he has no clue of the fact that it originated from Bob because HE COPIED an artist from DEAD PREZ’s song HIP HOP… Drake is clueless of that I’m sure.

      • Dude shut ur fucking mouth u know shit bout music. You are actually comparing Cobain or Bob Marley to justin Beiber, like give me a break, firstable Gaga, Beiber and Drake are not even musicians they fucking products of marketing and the 3 of them suck balls, ppl now days are so stupid that love that theyll comsume anything that mtv plays but they wont last or even become legens.
        i bet my grandsons will talk about Bob FUCKIN Marley but i bet no1 is gonna talk or even remember Gaga or fucking Beiber.
        “is their job” lol ur a fucking idiot.

      • It’s true, Drake copied Dead Prez. Whats sad to me is the hip hop industry has excelled in talking about how rich they are, how many girls they can get with, and fame. (Which is what Drake did) But he copied it from people who were using hip hop as a political platform for change. Main stream hip hop has become self indulgent.

  5. Leon sanchez, you are an idiot, no one in this forum is comparing beiber to bob marley nor cobain. “Firstable” is not a word, I’m sure you were looking for “first of all”. You might wanna invest in spellcbeck, becuase your post need it. Yes, drake’s verses are most likely inspired by dead prez but I am sure that he is well aware of bob marley

  6. Wow who cares if someone steals a LINE from a song?

    I absolutely love when I hear a line in a song that I recognize in another song. It is very popular in rap music. It shows respect so you shouldn’t get your panties in a bunch about it.

    FYI: Mobb Deep says the line in a song also.

  7. **Dead presidents actually, not Mobb deep

  8. When Drake said it he was actually verbatim quoting the hit song Hip Hop by Dead Prez, when Dead Prez use it they were being inspired by Bob Marley. Check out the Wikipedia on Dead Prez, if you’re a Bob Marley fan, you’ll like that they have a strong message and meaning to their music.

  9. Bob rules 4ever…………..he been dead how many years now and his tunes still hit you in the gut fresh like they just outa the studio. Music that lasts forever and not the canned crap that shore up the industry’s balance sheet these days. Days when a band was a band and session men where revered. Family man Barret, Sly Dunbar and chaps who defined groove.
    Spare men the crap, What the eff is a Drake…..?….male duck my elementary school books tell me………
    Lady gaga????????…………..WTF is that…??………..performers maybe but certainly not musicians.

  10. wow so much hate going on just because Drake used one of Bob’s lines.. i mean dont y’all get inspiired and post up comments from some song lyrics on fb.. no goes up ur ass saying yo dude drake said tht line y u got tht up on fb.. i mean Drake used it as an inspiration.. im sure he knows he cant compare to Bob but everyone wants to be up there and he’s trying hard and definetly succeeding at it.. i wasn’t a huge Drake fan, mostly into the 90s rap but u gotta appreciate everyone’s effort. i realized that it takes getting used to start liking Drake’s songs but they are def amazing.. but hey then again everyone needs a lil bit of hate to appreciate the love so who am i to say stop hating on drake.. im pretty sure he loves his haters cuz without em he wouldnt be where he is today and u wouldnt have the job u doin which is hating :)

  11. dead prez also reference this line in it’s bigger than hip hop and drake actually uses the rhyming scheme they’ve set up so shut up

  12. Pingback: Thumb Braces

  13. I hate that music has come to this. People are just repeating history. Lyrics have become more simple and meaningless. I hope someone out there is focused on bringing meaning back to music and changing the world one lyric at a time. To those artists, much respect. To the biters… Get with the program and write some original, ‘real’ music for the world to enjoy.

  14. I have had an issue with this for years. I am obsessed with music. It is my life. BUT, I have OCD and have music constantly playing in my head. Not normally. Like, one or two lines playing over and over for hours, and even days or weeks … It drives me insane. It may be part of the reason why I listen to so much electronic music, and instrumental. I read somewhere online that it’s called Musical OCD, but I really don’t know if that is a defined term. I’ve been wanting to get meds for this b/c it it is so intrusive in my everyday life, but I hate meds and I don’t want to take the risk of becoming uninterested in music in anyway.

  15. man fuck drake that foo looks like a fucken monkey

  16. Its called Trenchtown Rock not HIt Me With Music. Just FYI. Good article cept fa dat

  17. FUCK drake. period… no matter what anyone says, no ways can justice beaver, lady gaga or even drake (monotone rapper) compare even the slightest to Bob Marley. and if you think otherwise, than you’re dumb and should be shot in the face

  18. Good day very cool site!! Man .. Excellent .
    . Wonderful .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?

    I’m satisfied to search out so many helpful info here within the post, we’d like work out extra techniques on
    this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . .
    .

  19. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new
    updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  20. Thanks for expressing your ideas on this blog.
    Furthermore, a myth regarding the banks intentions while talking about property foreclosure
    is that the financial institution will not
    take my installments. There is a fair bit of time that this bank
    is going to take payments every now and then. If
    you are as well deep inside hole, they’re going to commonly desire that you pay the actual payment completely. However, i am not saying that they will not take any sort of payments at all. In case you and the bank can be capable to work one thing out, your foreclosure process may halt. However, when you continue to miss out on payments beneath new approach, the property foreclosures process can just pick up from where it left off.

  21. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  22. That is really interesting, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and stay up for searching for more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

Leave a Reply

